You are here

Results for Police and Crime

A NEW Zealander will be Tonga’s new Police Commander, the Ministry of Police, Prisons and Fire Services announced on April 2, stating they had not found a suitable local candidate.

Friday 4 April 2008
Node is premium Premium content

THE body of a ship’s engineer, Vai Vuetibula Pogiono (24), from Ono i Lau, Fiji, has been identified after being found washed up on the western foreshore of Queen Salote Wharf on Saturday morning, February 9.

Thursday 14 February 2008
Node is premium Premium content

THE body of an unidentified man was found washed up on the western foreshore of Queen Salote Wharf on Saturday morning, February 9.

Monday 11 February 2008
Node is premium Premium content

Friday 25 January 2008
Node is premium Premium content

SEFANAIA Palelei of Halaleva has been identified as the shooter in the killing of Nuku’alofa businesswoman Mosimani Helu (50) at her home in Kolofo’ou yesterday, January 21.

Palelei killed himself with the same gun, thought by witnesses to be a .22 rifle.

Tuesday 22 January 2008
Node is premium Premium content


Monday 21 January 2008
Node is premium Premium content

Wednesday 16 January 2008
Node is premium Premium content

FOURTEEN days after the shooting of Tofoa shopkeeper Ying Jin (54) on October 26, the gunman is still at large.

Thursday 8 November 2007
Node is premium Premium content

Wednesday 31 October 2007
Node is premium Premium content
An Assessment Report of the operation of the Tonga Police Force was presented this afternoon to Tonga’s Prime Minister, Dr Feleti Sevele by the High Commissioners of Australia and New Zealand.
Friday 25 May 2007
Node is premium Premium content


Monday 26 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content

TANIELA Likio 39, of Manuka was sentenced to seven years imprisonment this morning by Chief Justice Anthony Ford for the crimes of rape, indecent assault and housebreaking.

Friday 23 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content

AFTER the Tongan Cabinet extended the Emergency Powers for another 30 days, effective from Friday, February 16, the Tonga Defence Services has removed all their check points from the central Nuku’alofa area.

Tuesday 20 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content
The four People’s Representatives, ‘Akilisi Pohiva, ‘Isileli Pulu, William Clive Edwards and Lepolo Taunisila, who have been charged with sedition and other counts will appear for their Preliminary Inquiry hearings during the last week of March.
Monday 19 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content

Friday 16 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content

THE Tonga Defence Services TDS has issued a public warning that they will use “lethal force (force causing death)” to apprehend anyone who uses weapons such as axes, knives and firearms to threaten the safety of the public.

Tuesday 13 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content
Police Magistrate Samiu Palu this morning adjourned again the court appearance of ‘Akilisi Pohiva, Tu’i Uata and Semisi Sika to Friday Febuary 9.
Wednesday 7 February 2007
Node is premium Premium content
The Tongan police have taken into custody two people who have been charged with sedition and other charges relating to the destruction of the Nuku’alofa Business District on November 16.
Friday 12 January 2007
Node is premium Premium content
Officers of the New Zealand Police will remain in Tonga until March this year, taking part in the criminal investigation into the destruction of the Nuku’alofa business district on November 16, 2006.
Friday 5 January 2007
Node is premium Premium content

Pages