Skip to main content

You are here

Results for Police and Crime

Four murder cases arose out of violent domestic disputes this year, the most recent on May 22 with the death of a 23-year-old wife at Fangaloto. More alarming is that this death is the sixth murder case since September 2008, said the Commander of the Tonga Police Chris Kelley yesterday, June 1. By Linny Folau
Wednesday 3 June 2009
Node is premium Premium content

A 28-year-old woman has been charged with the murder of a woman following an incident in Mataki’eua last weekend - the fourth murder charge in Tonga this year, confirmed Deputy Police Commander Taniela Faletau today.

Tuesday 21 April 2009
Node is premium Premium content
A young man (20) has been charged with murder of a woman following an incident in ‘Uiha, Ha’apai, last week, confirmed Deputy Police Commander Taniela Faletau.
Thursday 9 April 2009
Node is premium Premium content

DEVELOPING a new style of community policing unique to Tonga is in the pipeline, following the completion of a Tonga Police nation-wide community consultation and survey on March 17.

Thursday 26 March 2009
Node is premium Premium content

GROUPS of bullies and thugs are blamed for starting street brawls between school boys from Liahona High School and Tonga College in Nuku’alofa on Friday, February 27 that could result in over 110 boys being charged for offences.

Wednesday 4 March 2009
Node is premium Premium content


Tuesday 3 March 2009
Node is premium Premium content
A 30-year-old man from Longoteme has been charged with murder, following an incident at the weekend, the Deputy Commander of the Tonga Police Taniela Faletau confirmed today. Monday, February 23, 2009 - 13:28
Monday 23 February 2009
Node is premium Premium content
Tonga has far too many road deaths caused by bad driving and driving under the influence of alcohol, said Chris Kelley, Tonga’s new Police Commander, who has seen seven road deaths here during his first six weeks on the job.
Friday 21 November 2008
Node is premium Premium content

FOUR Liahona High School boys were killed in a road accident at Lomaiviti on Friday evening, October 31,the Deputy Police Commander Taniela Faletau confirmed today.

Monday 3 November 2008
Node is premium Premium content

THE bodies of two newborns found dumped in two separate locations in Tongatapu only one day after the other were identified as a four months foetus and a near-full term baby of eight months gestation at the times of their deaths, the Deputy Police Commander Taniela Falet

Tuesday 28 October 2008
Node is premium Premium content

By Linny Folau

Thursday 9 October 2008
Node is premium Premium content

Thursday 3 July 2008
Node is premium Premium content

FOUR men have been arrested and charged in relation to the armed robbery and shooting that took place outside the Westpac Bank of Tonga branch at the Si’i Kae Ola shopping centre on May 26.

Wednesday 25 June 2008
Node is premium Premium content

IN A daylight robbery, three armed men ambushed a business cashier and shot her driver outside the commercial branch of the Westpac Bank of Tonga on Monday, May 26, snatching $3,000 cash.

Wednesday 28 May 2008
Node is premium Premium content


Nuku’alofa, Tonga

Monday 19 May 2008
Node is premium Premium content

NAULALA ‘Eli (64) has been identified as the shooter who killed himself at Ha’ateiho, after shooting and wounding his wife and a young man on the morning of Sunday April 6, in a drunken rage.

Wednesday 9 April 2008
Node is premium Premium content
A Ha’ateiho man in his 60’s reportedly shot himself after shooting and wounding his wife and a young man in a drunken rage, early on Sunday morning April 6.
Monday 7 April 2008
Node is premium Premium content

A NEW Zealander will be Tonga’s new Police Commander, the Ministry of Police, Prisons and Fire Services announced on April 2, stating they had not found a suitable local candidate.

Friday 4 April 2008
Node is premium Premium content

Pages