You are here

Results for Cardinal Mafi

Thursday 5 October 2017

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Cardinal Mafi of Tonga this week has emphasized that religious leaders should not get involved in politics. He was speaking at a a National Dialogue to ‘Identify Leadership Contribution to Tonga’s Journey to a Democratic Society.’
Node is premium Premium content
Monday 3 July 2017

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
The 175th Anniversary of the Catholic Church in Tonga on Sunday, July 2 was celebrated with a mass led by HE Cardinal Mafi at Pangaimotu Island, the site of a white cross that marks the first mass held on July 2, 1842.
Node is premium Premium content
Tuesday 4 April 2017

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Cardinal Soane Patita Mafi is recovering in Auckland after he was reportedly rushed to the Middlemore Hospital in the weekend.
Node is premium Premium content
Saturday 11 June 2016

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
A new classroom building for the 'Apifo'ou College’s Technical and Vocational Education and Training facility (TVET) was commissioned on Thursday, 9 June.
Monday 13 April 2015

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
A celebratory lunch for HE Cardinal Mafi on Saturday, 11 April was attended by King Tupou VI and Queen Nanasipau’u at ‘Apifo’ou College grounds.
1 comment
Node is premium Premium content
Friday 27 February 2015

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
His Eminence Cardinal Soane Patita Paini Mafi returned to Tonga on February 26 and continues his normal duties as Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Tonga and Niue, after what he described as a ‘humbling experience’ in Rome.
Node is premium Premium content
Thursday 26 February 2015
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
A one-off public holiday on Monday, March 2 this year will be held to honour the appointment of Tonga’s first Cardinal, His Eminence Soane Patita Paini Mafi (53).
Node is premium Premium content
Monday 16 February 2015

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
His Eminence Cardinal Mafi (53) has become Tonga's first cardinal following his appointment by Pope Francis during a consistory, on February 14 at St Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City.
Node is premium Premium content