You are here


Hong Kong beats Tonga 24 – 0

Nuku'alofa, Tonga

Tonga was defeated by Hong Kong 24 - 0 in the cup final of the annual Borneo Sevens tournament on Sunday, March 1.

The six teams competing were Tonga, Singapore, Hong Kong, PNG, China and Sri Lanka.

The defeat follows a trend of lows for Tongan Sevens Rugby. However, team Tonga still has a chance to qualify as a core team for the next World Seven’s series, if they win the world series qualifiers in Hong Kong at the end of this month March 27-29.

Teams competing in the world series qualifiers are Tonga, Uruguay, Hong Kong, Brazil, Mexico, PNG, Russia, South Korea, Tunisia, Zimbabwe, Spain and Guyana.