You are here

Results for Tongan

King Taufa’ahau Tupou VI addressed the United Nation’s general assembly on Saturday 27 September in New York, United States.
Tuesday 30 September 2014
The inflation rate for the month of August this year 2014 was almost three times higher than the inflation rate for the month of August last year 2013.
Monday 29 September 2014 - 1 comment
An August completion report by the Asian Development Bank (ADB) has indicated challenges facing privatization and fiscal sustainability in Tonga.
Thursday 25 September 2014
The Duke of Cambridge, Prince William and his brother Prince Harry have a launched a search to find and reward “exceptional young people” from commonwealth countries including Tonga.
Friday 19 September 2014
The Tongan currency (Pa’anga) has shown a continuing decline against the New Zealand and Australian dollars over the last 15 years, and the pa’anga is, arguably, in its worst year ever against its major trading partners.
Thursday 18 September 2014
Two women, Denise Knutson and Lesley Longdon, were the top anglers in the annual Tongan International Billfish Tournament held in Vava’u, Tonga, last week, 5-9 September 2014. The heaviest Blue Marlin at 171.5kg was caught by Greg Haliday.
Monday 15 September 2014
Current cool nights and low rainfall indicate that Tonga may be affected by a climatic condition known as “El Nino” with the potential of droughts occurring in the coming months. Water conservation is advised as an El Nino watch remains in force.
Friday 12 September 2014
Parliament has passed a Seabed Minerals Act 2014, an act that regulates mineral exploration and potential mining in Tongan waters.
Thursday 11 September 2014
Tongan muscles were on display at the Mr Tonga 2014 bodybuilding competition held at Queen Salote Memorial Hall on Friday, September 5.
Monday 8 September 2014 - 1 comment
Two Tongan men (by ethnicity) are currently on death row and awaiting execution in the United States, according to a recent criminal justice report on death row inmates in America.
Thursday 4 September 2014
A week promoting the Tongan Language is currently being held in New Zealand,from 1-7 September.
Wednesday 3 September 2014
A lawsuit filed by Tongan MP Sione Taione against the Tongan government, accusing it of unlawfully making payments to three nobles, was rejected by the Supreme Court on Friday 22 August.
Wednesday 27 August 2014 - 1 comment
Tonga’s AFL team “Tonga Thunder” has finished 6th place at the Australian Football International Cup in Melbourne, Australia.
Tuesday 26 August 2014
Four newly refurbished Massey Ferguson tractors have arrived in Tonga, destined for villages in ‘Eua and Niuafo’ou island to help increase their agricultural activities.
Monday 25 August 2014
Apifo‘ou College won the 2014 Tonga Secondary Schools 1st XV rugby grand-final with an upset win over Tupou College Toloa today August 22.
Friday 22 August 2014
Nineteen Vava’u primary schools participated in the Tonga Soroban Competition at Mailefihi Siu’ilikutapu College, co-hosted by the Embassy of Japan and the Ministry of Education and Training last week Thursday August 14.
Wednesday 20 August 2014
Tonga’s Australian Football team, the Tonga Thunder easily defeated Pakistan 147 – 6 yesterday 19 August at the International Cup (AFL world cup) in Melbourne, Australia.
Wednesday 20 August 2014
A 62 year-old American man, Antone Thomas Pedras is facing deportation after his appeal against a removal order was dismissed by the Supreme Court.
Tuesday 19 August 2014
The ‘Ikale Tahi will play Scotland on November 22 in the town of Kilmarnock, Scotland.
Monday 18 August 2014
The Tonga Tennis Association is sending a team of eleven local junior players on a tour of American Samoa and Fiji.
Thursday 14 August 2014

Pages