You are here

Results for Tongan

A lawsuit filed by Tongan MP Sione Taione against the Tongan government, accusing it of unlawfully making payments to three nobles, was rejected by the Supreme Court on Friday 22 August.
Wednesday 27 August 2014 - 1 comment
Tonga’s AFL team “Tonga Thunder” has finished 6th place at the Australian Football International Cup in Melbourne, Australia.
Tuesday 26 August 2014
Four newly refurbished Massey Ferguson tractors have arrived in Tonga, destined for villages in ‘Eua and Niuafo’ou island to help increase their agricultural activities.
Monday 25 August 2014
Apifo‘ou College won the 2014 Tonga Secondary Schools 1st XV rugby grand-final with an upset win over Tupou College Toloa today August 22.
Friday 22 August 2014
Nineteen Vava’u primary schools participated in the Tonga Soroban Competition at Mailefihi Siu’ilikutapu College, co-hosted by the Embassy of Japan and the Ministry of Education and Training last week Thursday August 14.
Wednesday 20 August 2014
Tonga’s Australian Football team, the Tonga Thunder easily defeated Pakistan 147 – 6 yesterday 19 August at the International Cup (AFL world cup) in Melbourne, Australia.
Wednesday 20 August 2014
A 62 year-old American man, Antone Thomas Pedras is facing deportation after his appeal against a removal order was dismissed by the Supreme Court.
Tuesday 19 August 2014
The ‘Ikale Tahi will play Scotland on November 22 in the town of Kilmarnock, Scotland.
Monday 18 August 2014
The Tonga Tennis Association is sending a team of eleven local junior players on a tour of American Samoa and Fiji.
Thursday 14 August 2014
The Ministry of Revenue & Customs is announcing a new small business tax after changes to the Income Tax Law that brings everyone into the new turnover system that began on 1 July 2014. The new tax is compulsory unless business owners apply for an option to remain in the current profit based system.
Tuesday 12 August 2014
Tonga’s AFL (Australian Football) team overmatched India in its opening game of the AFL world cup in Melbourne, yesterday Sunday 10 August. Tonga scored 172 points while India managed only 6.
Monday 11 August 2014
Prime Minister Tu’ivakano is currently in Thailand attending the 70th annual policy session of the United Nations Economic & Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific (ESCAP).
Wednesday 6 August 2014
A team of Canadian archaeologists have excavated the remains of an ancient settlement outside the small village of Nukuleka, located at the entrance of Tongatapu’s central lagoon.
Friday 25 July 2014 - 1 comment
Five of Tonga’s boxers will begin their first bouts today and tomorrow, putting their chins on the line in their quest for a medal at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland.
Friday 25 July 2014
The prices of petrol and kerosene have increased after the Tonga Competent Authority approved new petroleum prices for July – August, effective yesterday July 16.
Thursday 17 July 2014
A new study by Australian researchers has stated that Tonga was the only prehistoric state in Oceania to encompass an entire archipelago and extend its influence to other island groups.
Monday 14 July 2014
An Asian Development Bank (ADB) review has summarized challenges for Tonga’s Solid Waste Management.
Friday 11 July 2014
An Asian Development Bank report has stated that the Tongan economy grew 1.5% for the year 2014 (ending 30 June).
Wednesday 9 July 2014
The Tongan government has committed $1.5 Million US dollars to a regional fight against “invasive species” which are a threat to native species.
Tuesday 8 July 2014 - 2 comments
A 6.4 magnitude underwater earthquake struck 197 kilometres northwest of Niuatoputapu early Monday morning at 3:52 AM, triggering a tsunami warning that was later cancelled.
Tuesday 1 July 2014

Pages