You are here

Results for Kali Fungavaka

Former Police Constable Fatai Faletau (36) who was convicted of assaulting Kali Fungavaka in 2012, was sentenced today to eight months imprisonment.
Tuesday 29 July 2014
Hon Justice Cato sentenced Police Inspector Kelepi Hala’ufia to 11 years and Police Constable Salesi Maile to nine years in the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court this morning, 9 July.
Wednesday 9 July 2014
Sentencing of the two policemen convicted of the convicted of manslaughter in the death of New Zealand Police Officer Kali Fungavaka in 2012 has been adjourned until next week, on Wednesday, July 9 at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Tuesday 1 July 2014
Four men, including three policemen convicted of manslaughter and assault in relation to the death of New Zealand police officer Kali Fungavaka, will be sentenced on Tuesday, 1 July.
Tuesday 24 June 2014
Police Inspector Kelepi Hala’ufia and Police Constable Salesi Maile were this morning convicted of manslaughter for the death of New Zealand Police officer Kali Fungavaka in Nuku’alofa in 2012. They are remanded in custody for sentencing.
Friday 6 June 2014
A jury today found Semisi Kalisitiane Manu not guilty of manslaughter, but convicted him on an alternative charge of grievous bodily harm in relation to Kali Fungavaka’s death.
Friday 30 May 2014
Closing submissions from counsel in the jury-trial into the death of Kali Fungavaka was completed today with final direction from the judge expected tomorrow May 30, before the jury retires to deliberate on a verdict.
Thursday 29 May 2014
A surgeon specialist told the jury-trial into the death of Kali Fungavaka today that the deceased had sustained head injuries that included multiple skull fractures on the top of his head, when examined upon admission to Vaiola Hospital on August 18, 2012.
Tuesday 27 May 2014
A prisoner told the jury-trial for the civilian accused Semisi Kalisitiane Manu in the death of Kali Fungavaka, he saw Manu punch the victim inside cell 7 causing him to fall banging his head hard on the floor. While, another prisoner alleged to have witnessed beforehand the police beating up Kali “like treating an animal”.
Friday 23 May 2014
The father of the accused civilian Semisi Kalistiane Manu who is on jury trial for manslaughter in the death of Kali Fungavaka, said he witnessed the police beating up Kali at the Nuku’alofa Police Station.
Tuesday 20 May 2014
The jury trial for the civilian accused of manslaughter in relation to the death of New Zealand Police officer Kali Fungavaka in 2012, began today, Monday May 19 at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Monday 19 May 2014
Verdicts in the trial of five policemen accused of manslaughter in Kali Fungavaka’s death are expected to be delivered on June 6, at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Wednesday 14 May 2014
Final submissions from counsel in the trial of five policemen accused in Kali Fungavaka’s death started today but its publication was suppressed by the judge at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Monday 12 May 2014
Tavake Fungavaka’s funeral was held this afternoon Friday, May 9 at Fua’amotu in Tongatapu. He was in Tonga attending the trial into the death of his son Kali Fungavaka. Photos by Linny Folau.
Friday 9 May 2014
Closing submissions from counsel in the trial of five policemen charged with manslaughter in Kali Fungavaka’s death was further adjourned on Wednesday May 7, at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Thursday 8 May 2014
Tavake Fungavaka died on Saturday, May 3 at Vaiola Hospital, his sister Sulieti Tu‘akoi confirmed to Matangi Tonga this morning. Tavake was in Tonga attending the trial into the death of his son Kali, currently underway at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court.
Tuesday 6 May 2014
A jury trial for the accused civilian Semisi Kalistiane Manu who faces manslaughter charges in relation to Kali Fungavaka’s death is expected to begin on Monday, May 12. The first trial of the five accused policemen charged with the same offence is to end this week with counsel submissions.
Monday 5 May 2014
The five policemen accused of manslaughter in the death of Kali Fungavaka have chosen not to give evidence in the trial at the Nuku’alofa Supreme Court after the Crown concluded its final witness today, May 1. The trial continues on Monday, May 5 with submissions from counsel.
Thursday 1 May 2014
The accused Police Constables Salesi Maile and Fatai Faletau had in their Record of Interviews denied assaulting Kali Fungavaka when he was in custody on the night of August 17, 2012 at the Nuku’alofa Police station.
Wednesday 30 April 2014
A 21-year-old prisoner detained in a cell on the night Kali Fungavaka was brought into the custody told the court today, he used a piece of mirror and saw police officers in overalls beating Kali Fungavaka in front of the search room at the Nuku’alofa Police station.
Monday 28 April 2014

Pages